Mullingar Shamrocks

Founded 1953

Co. Westmeath

Mullingar Shamrocks collect Junior Championship points

Download our mobile app to hear more about Mullingar Shamrocks.

See More

Clarke’s Bar Junior I Championship: Mullingar Shamrocks 0-11 Athlone 0-6

This victory over the already qualified Athlone secured Mullingar Shamrocks the runner-up position in the group and a quarter-final place in the knock-out stages of the Junior championship. Shamrocks led from the opening bell when Pearse Corroon kicked a point from close to the Clubhouse sideline after receiving a super cross-field pass from brother Ross. Pearse turned provider for the next score, a point by Trevor Keena after Bressie had delivered a great turnover deep in defence. Ross Corroon added a third point from a free before James Beaumont replied with a like score for Athlone. When a long spell of Athlone possession play was ended by Mullingar Shamrocks outstanding player on the night, James Larkin, Luke McCabe swung over another point with the left boot and then repeated the act with a similar score from a free. Beaumont and Ross Corroon exchanged points from frees before Neill Hannigan closed the first-half scoring with a fine long-range point (0-7 to 0-2).

The teams shared eight points in the second half. J. Martin began the scoring with a point for Athlone before Niall Hannigan and Trevor Keena combined to split the Athlone defence and send Nathan Cornally through on goal. Nathan’s shot was saved by the Athlone keeper who brilliantly deflected the ball over for a point. L. Whelan and J. Martin added points for Athlone before Ross Corroon kicked three great points to seal the deal for Shamrocks the first of these was probably the highest point of the season. In between J. Kenny pointed for Athlone for whom Fergal Murray, one of the heroes of the Westmeath All-Ireland Minor title winning team of 1995 lined out in his favourite corner-back position. It’s great to see.

Mullingar Shamrocks: Philly Shaw; Eamonn Breslin, Aaron Purcell, Dylan Carey; Pearse Corroon (0-1), Eddie Moore, Niall Hardiman (Nathan Smyth); James Larkin, Ciaran Kiernan; Niall Hannigan (0-1), Trevor Keena (0-1), Nathan Cornally (0-1); Luke McCabe (0-2), David Culkin (Brian Melody), Ross Corroon (0-5).

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play