Mullingar Shamrocks

Founded 1953

Co. Westmeath

Successful AGM held

Download our mobile app to hear more about Mullingar Shamrocks.

See More

Annual General Meeting 2023

A large attendance assembled in The Clubhouse on Thursday evening for the Mullingar Shamrocks Club’s Annual General Meeting. The club’s One Club Model was reflected in the large female attendance.

Chairman David Nohilly in his address spoke of a year that was ‘largely positive’ that began when club celebrated the 70th Anniversary of its foundation with a wonderful banquet attended by the President of the GAA, Larry McCarthy. ‘It was a once in generation event’.

David Nohilly in his address focused on volunteerism: ‘The successes of or teams and the events that we run cannot happen without the tireless work of the volunteers and volunteerism is at the heart of our club, as it is part of the GAA. The doubling of the income is a testament to the volunteer spirit of the club. The fact remains we definitely need more volunteers if we are to continue expanding, thriving and re-establishing our Premier status in the county.’

‘Everyone has a part to play’, Mr Nohilly stated, ‘new volunteers can always bring a renewed impetus and thinking to a club. We desperately need more expressions of interest. Don’t be afraid to put your name forward. It will benefit you. It gives you a sense of purpose, provides you with a sense of community and allows you to become a role model to others’. The rebuilding of our under age structures remains a priority.

Secretary, Garret Doyle in his report outlined the multi-faceted activities of the club. He paid a special tribute to our Games Promotion Officer, Eanna Holland ‘who had a real positive impact on the club and his interactions with the schools, players and coaches was top class’. Pat Collins in his usual comprehensive report acknowledged the under-age activities and successes of 2023. The real success story of 2023 was that at end of the season Mullingar Shamrocks for the first time in several years qualified for Divison 1 status in all under-age competitions. Pat too called for more volunteers stepped forward: ‘It will be a priority again for the Underage Committee in the coming year, to source more help from parents with this particular group of players, who in a few short years will be the future of the Club’. Joan Ormsby outlined the several activities associated with her role as Healthy Club, Green Club and Inclusive Club initiatives.

The Gaelic4Mothers&Others also reported on their year’s activities. Team numbers have increased from 30 to over 40 with memberships fully paid. The team played 20 matches over the year, against teams from 7 different counties including 5 home matches and 1 away match and participated in 4 blitzes (and played against 14 teams between the blitzes).

David Nohilly (Chairperson), Debbie Newman (Vice-Chairperson), Garrett Doyle (Secretary) treasurers David Coghlan and Ciara Keegan continue in office as does Tom Hunt (PRO) and Joan Ormsby (Healthy Club/Green Club Officer). Maria Carroll, Karen Hegarty and Óisin Masterson form the Registrars’ team. Pat Collins continues in his role as secretary of the Under-Age Committee where he will be joined by Jude Whelehan, a new volunteer to an administrative role. The club is fortunate that a number of people have stepped forward and volunteered to serve in positions of importance. Emma McCabe Byrne is our new Cultural Officer; Ollie Keating succeeds Barry Kelly as Under-Age Committee Chairperson; Murty Hanly takes the helm as Chairperson of our Ladies’ Football Committee with Margaret Donohoe continuing as secretary. Ritchie Daly takes a step back from the assistant secretary and is replaced by Aidan O’Donoghue. Carole Finch succeeds Paul Aherne as the club’s Coaching and Games Development Officer. Detty Cornally remains unchallenged as President.

We wish the new officers the best of luck in their posts and thank those who have taken, what will almost certainly be just a sabbatical, from their posts.

The following officers were elected. President: Detty Cornally; Chairperson: David Nohilly; Vice-Chairperson: Debbie Newman; Secretary: Garrett Doyle; Assistant Secretary: Aidan O’Donoghue; Treasurers: David Coghlan; Assistant Treasurer: Carmel Keegan; PRO: Tom Hunt; Healthy Club-Green Club Officer: Joan Ormsby; Cultural Officer: Emma McCabe Byrne; Children's Officer: Sophie Hegarty; Registrar: Karen Hegarty; Maria Carroll, Óisin Masterson. Under-age Committee, Chairperson: Ollie Keating; Under-age Committee, Secretary: Pat Collins and Jude Whelehan; LGF Committee, Chairperson: Murty Hanly LGF Committee, Secretary: Margaret Donohoe. Coaching Officer: Carole Finch.

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play