Mullingar Shamrocks

Founded 1953

Co. Westmeath

Mullingar Shamrocks defeat St Loman's in Fair Green Shopping Centre LGF Senior Championship

Download our mobile app to hear more about Mullingar Shamrocks.

See More

Fair Green Shopping Centre LGF Senior Championship: Mullingar Shamrocks 1-8 St Loman’s 0-8.

A bit late unfortunately, Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann having an impact already. The good news is that Mullingar Shamrocks took the important championship points in this local derby encounter with a well deserved victory in a match that was liberally sprinkled with wides but not all LGF matches can be classics. Mullingar Shamrocks held an interval lead of 0-3 to 0-2 thanks to points by Karen Hegarty (0-2) and Chloe Smullen. The ever dangerous Caoimhe Kilmurray and Vicky Carr responded for St Loman’s.

The crucial goal was scored early in the second half when a great pass from Clara Thornton sent Karen Hegarty free and Karen made no mistake and blasted the ball past Fiona Keating in the St Loman’s goal. Vicky Carr pointed but a great point from Karen Hegarty kept the scoreboard ticking for Shamrocks (1-4 to 0-3). Caoimhe Kilmurray pointed and a second Loman’s point cut the Shamrock’s lead to 0-2. A Chloe Smullen shot rocked off the crossbar, but Karen Hegarty was alert to the rebound and pointed. Honor MacNamara and Clara combined to create another opportunity for Karen Hegarty who pointed. Vicky Carr added a couple of points before a great run by Máiread Newman created a goal scoring opportunity for Chloe Smullen. Fiona Keating saved brilliantly but Máiread collected the rebound and pointed. In the final minutes Vicky Carr and Caoimhe Kilmurray exchanged points with Karen and Honor MacNamara. At the final whistle Shamrocks had a goal advantage with the scoreboard reading 1-8 to 0-8.

Mullingar Shamrocks: Lauren McCormack; Sophie Hegarty (Cliodhna Spellman), Niamh Spellman, Annemarie O’Reilly; Susanna Buckley, Máiread Newman (0-1), Melek Fagan; Tara Fagan, Caoimhe Gaffney; Clara Thornton, Michaela O’Connor (Laura Whitelaw), Emma Morris; Karen Hegarty (1-5), Honor MacNamara (0-1), Chloe Smullen (0-1).

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play