Mullingar Shamrocks

Founded 1953

Co. Westmeath

Under-15s outscore Moate All-Whites

Download our mobile app to hear more about Mullingar Shamrocks.

See More

Under 15 Div 1 championship: Mullingar Shamrocks 2-15 Moate All Whites 2-8.

Mullingar Shamrocks’ under 15s played their penultimate league/championship game on a balmy Wednesday evening when they faced a strong challenge from Moate All Whites in Springfield. The home side emerged victorious after a hard fought outing and thus secured their second brace of championship points in the ultra competitive environment of Div 1. The performance had some positives with Zac Coyne immense in the pivotal defensive berth and James Ryan, Liam Heffernan, Rian Sheerin and Sean Hickey marshalling the Moate attackers in a disciplined manner. Rory McCaul and James Davitt dovetailed well at midfield and Ted Aherne led the attack well with goal scorers Hugo Corroon and Ruairi Kilmartin securing the game’s vital three pointers.

The concession of a goal directly from a free will be the focus of the coaches’ next training session but the commitment at and to training by the entire panel consistently since February is being rewarded. This group of players has made considerable progress in 2023 beginning with excellent displays in April’s Feile competition resulting in a place in the Division 1 final and a successful campaign in division 2 of the league ensured promotion to Division 1 for the championship.

Four championship points is indeed respectable thus far and the challenge for the group continues next Tuesday with a final group outing against Coralstown Kinnegad before the knockout stages and a likely quarter final away to Coralstown Kinnegad, Shandonagh or The Downs.

The squad on duty against Moate was: Oisin Gavin, Padraig Regan, Harry Tilson, Ryan McNamee, Ruairi Kelly, Ruairi Kilmartin, Ted Aherne, Hugo Corroon, Rory McCaul, Isaac Haughey, Dylan Byrne, Luke Kelly, Aaron Conroy, Gareth Sweeney, Conor Walsh, Charlie Murtagh, Zac Masterson, Zac Coyne, James Ryan, Sean Hickey, Paddy Colleary, Liam Heffernan, Darragh Ryan and Rian Sheerin.

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play