Mullingar Shamrocks

Founded 1953

Co. Westmeath

Shamrocks reach the Knock-out stages ...

45066126 917171508480309 3800810675572310016 o 5b1 5d

Download our mobile app to hear more about Mullingar Shamrocks .

See More

Westmeath Senior Championship: Mullingar Shamrocks 1-8 St Loman's 0-10.

Shamrocks recent dominance over St Loman's in senior championship football continued with this one point victory in the fourth round of the league section of the championship. St Loman's playing against a strong wind dominated the first half and led at the interval by 0-6 to 0-2. However, the Shamrocks defensive structure survived intact with Micheál Curley and Dónal O'Donoghue outstanding and the four points deficit could have been greater. T. J. Cox pointed in the first minute, John Heslin and David Windsor added two more points in the opening ten minutes. Loman's also kicked three wides during this spell, an indication of their early dominance. Denis Corroon pointed a free in the twelfth minute after a foul on Simon Quinn. Simon was also involved in Shamrock's next significant bout of play. A great pass found fullback Kieran Gavin who raced through the Loman's defence and released Darren Keena who was fouled in the act of shooting. The resultant penalty was brilliantly saved by Jason Daly who got a hand to Dean Moore's well struck shot. John Heslin pointed two more frees before Simon Quinn pointed from play in the twenty-fifth minute. Paul Whelan pointed in the time added on to leave the boys in blue comfortably ahead at the interval (0-6 to 0-2).

A more purposeful Shamrocks emerged from the dressing rooms after the tea break and Marc Eivers pointed shortly after the restart with Simon Quinn again doing much of the spadework. The Loman's response was immediate and Sam McCartan shot over the bar when presented with a great goal-scoring opportunity. In another significant moment, Ronan O'Toole's involvement ended when he received a second yellow card for his efforts. Denis Corroon pointed two frees- the second a superb low trajectory effort from the right hand sideline kicked with the outside of the boot into the strong wind. Shamrocks were menacing at this stage; John Heslin pointed a free so too did Denis before Sam McCartan pointed from play to restore St Loman's three point lead in the twenty-first minute. Simon Quinn had retired injured in the fifteenth minute and the loss to Shamrocks was a great one. There was lots of more drama to come. Tye Adamson who replaced Quinn was fouled in the penalty zone and Dean Moore bravely stepped forward for his second penalty of the night. Dean held his nerve, won the battle of minds with Jason Daly, sent the goalkeeper in the wrong direction, and knocked in the equalising goal. Almost immediately Dean kicked a point to send Shamrocks into the lead for the first time of the evening (1-7 to 0-9). Daragh Daly tore through but the final pass went astray. In the twenty-third minute Kelvin Reilly departed on a double yellow and Loman's responded with an equalising point from T. J. Cox. Efe replaced Brendan O'Reilly and with his first significant play of the game kicked Shamrocks into the lead. This proved to be the last score of the evening. Efe, the Paul McGrath of of Shamrocks , was in a great goal scoring position shortly afterwards but the vital pass never arrived. Shamrocks were totally on top at this stage but a number of attempts at scoring the hero point, by boys eager to impress, ended in predictable failure. The drama continued, a massive John Heslin effort rebounded off the post; Billy Flynn received a second yellow card for a bout of all-in off-the-ball wrestling with T. J. Cox (this was allowed back in 1884) - one of the highlights of the night was Billy's battle with T. J; St Loman's were awarded a 45 from the right sideline and as John Heslin's great effort curved into the goalmouth, it was Kieran Gavin who rose highest and the man with the safest pair of hands in the business collected safely. It was the last play of the evening. Shamrocks were one point winners and safely into the play-off stages of the 2019 senior championships.

Mullingar Shamrocks: Philly Shaw; Eddie Moore, Kieran Gavin, Billy Flynn; Killian Daly, Michael Curley, Brendan O'Reilly (Efe Siode, 0-1); Denis Corroon (0-4), Daragh Daly; Simon Quinn (0-1), Dónal O’Donoghue, Marc Eivers (0-1); Darren Keena (Ciarán Curley), Dean Moore (1-1), Paddy Fagan (Dillon Matthews).

Other News

Download ClubZap and subscribe for more news.

31947522 1182639601839036 8425014135665721344 o

Best wishes and congrats to Claire Fagan ...

Congrats and Good Luck to Claire ... Claire Fagan will ...

1014891 5b1 5d

Help Wanted ...

If anyone is free this FRIDAY evening from 7-8 to help i...

Dsc 0068

Australian Wanderers visit to Mullingar Shamrocks

The Australian Wanderers visit Springfield ... The Aust...

20171205 182457

Today is international day in Springfield

Today is International Day In Springfield ... Today (We...

Download 20%282%29

Help Wanted ...

Help Wanted ... When? Friday 6 December from 7 to 9 to ...

20191202 200409

Tye Adamson awarded Leinster GAA Bursary

Congratulations Tye ... Congratulations to Tye Adamson ...

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play